You are not broken. You do not need to be fixed.

Helen Clamp
The Unicorn Factory
3 min readJun 30, 2017

A lot of people profit from telling you that you need to be fixed. You don’t.

Many of them are genuinely trying to help and it comes from a really good place, but there is something I really need to tell you, something I wish I’d been told years ago…

Nothing is broken. You do not need to be fixed.

You are a wonderful and unique combination of personality, experience and circumstances and that deserves to be celebrated!

Okay… so I now right now you’re thinking “Yes… that all sounds very nice… but…”

It’s okay I know you have a long list of things you think you need to fix or change. I had one of those too. Even now so much has changed I still have a list… much shorter… but I can’t quite let it go.

We have messy lives. We have tons of things we don’t like about ourselves. We’ve all done things we feel ashamed about. And I know what it feels like to be right at the bottom of it all and not see a way out.

And even with all of that. No matter what has happened in your life. Or what you have done. I still totally and utterly know that you are not broken and you do not need to be fixed.

Now I completely get that you’re not going to just read this and go “Great! Glad you said that, I’ve just magically let it all go! Off to rip up that list now…”

But even though I haven’t completely parted with my own hang ups, deep down I know the moment I forget about fixing myself, the moment life gets a bit easier and happier.

A lot of my desire to fix myself comes from wanting to fit in some kind of mould that I think will make me more likable, acceptable, successful.. and ultimately make me (and the people I care about the most) happier. But the crazy thing is that much as I can’t make everyone happy by being myself, I still won’t make everyone happy by changing myself into someone else. And in all my years of trying to be a more acceptable version of me it’s never made me happier… in fact it’s usually left me feeling worse than I did before.

Giving up the idea you need to be fixed is bloody scary. What if you are exactly who you are, with all the crazy and annoying bits and everyone hates you?!

I’ve discovered that more I swap fixing and changing myself for embracing and loving myself the happier I get. And the happier I am the better my life gets.

So you might not rip up the list today. Or even in 6 months time. It might even take a few years until you’re ready to chuck it away for good… but in the meantime just know that there is someone in this world (that’d be me!) who 100% believes that whoever you are and whatever you are going through… YOU ARE NOT BROKEN. YOU DO NOT NEED TO BE FIXED. And I hope with a little love, compassion and some of the BIGGEST HUGS (real, virtual or imaginary!!!) you can start to see just how awesome your quirky random crazy uniqueness is.

Love you xxx

--

--

Helen Clamp
The Unicorn Factory

It’s okay to be different // It’s okay to feel whatever you feel // Listen to yourself, trust yourself and be unapologetically YOU!