Guess what? You created a Framework.

--

I Shall Not Tell A Lie!

I just read an article here on Medium touting the lack of real cases where you need to choose a front-end framework. The author gives the standard platitudes of not really reusing anything so why bother with Vue, React or Angular? Then he proceeds with this:

The vast majority of projects I work on day-in and day-out use a simple Vanilla JS layer talking to a backend PHP script via AJAX. PHP handles the database operations or heavy business logic and returns what I want to my front end using JSON, and guess what? It works beautifully. — Ryan Nehring, Programming in the Time of Giants

Guess what? You created a framework.

Not that it’s bad that he created a framework, but telling people not to use frameworks but then using a framework only he gets to play with is disingenuous at best.

And I assume he’s using jQuery in his “vanilla” JavaScript layer, otherwise the man is a masochist. So, yeah, he’s probably actually using one of the Giants anyways.

The point?

Don’t write clickbait articles giving people bad advice and be disingenuous in the process.

--

--

The Sharp Ninja
The Unpopular Opinions of a Senior Developer

27+ years of professional software engineering has taught me a thing or three…