Three things I want to hear Apple talk about during today’s event

Aniket Sharma
The Unprofessionals
4 min readSep 7, 2016

It’s Apple’s fall event day (‘See you on the 7th’ event day, for purists) today and that means since I woke up, 83% of my mental faculties have been dedicated to musing, daydreaming and over-thinking about all that we’ll see and hear tonight while desperately waiting for said night to arrive. I’m excited to see the new iPhones, Apple Watches, iPads?, Macs? But what I’m looking the most forward to is hopefully hearing Tim and team (rhyme win!) talk about the following:

Fitness features of the new Apple Watch and watchOS 3. The Apple Watch has been on my wrist 15 hours a day, every single day since March 7, 2016, the day I bought it. And I’ve been hooked. It has helped me make quantifiable changes to my lifestyle to aid my quest of becoming fitter and filling those three rings has been one of the key targets that I have daily. That said, fitness tracking was pretty barebones in the beginning. The activity rings are great (and if Apple plays their cards right, could become iconic in the world of wearables) but there wasn’t much else in terms of depth with regards to fitness tracking. Apple has changed that with watchOS 3 by bringing better workout tracking, activity sharing and the new Breathe app and the rumored GPS sensor and barometer on the Apple Watch 2 have the potential to take it to the next level. I really want to hear more about Apple’s plan and vision about fitness tracking using the Apple Watch (after all, they have always highlighted the fitness tracking smarts of the AW, right from that first video with Christy Turlington Burns).

How the dual-lens camera changes iPhone photography as we know. If we know, with relative certainty, a couple of things that’ll happen today, they are that night will fall in a few hours and that Apple’s new iPhone (at least the Plus model) will have a dual-lens camera. Knowing Apple, this camera will surely be a marquee feature of the new iPhones and it’ll surely bring with it new and unheard of features through clever integration of hardware and software. Usually, Apple dedicates a section of their iPhone announcement presentation to highlight the camera and the photos showcased are always stunning. As a photography enthusiast, I’m looking forward to seeing what smarts the new cameras bring. Also, it’ll be interesting to see Apple defend not adding the dual-lens camera system on the 4.7-inch model (rumors point toward it having just one camera on the back and the dual-lens camera going to the Plus models).

Anything about Apple’s plans for Macs and iPads. It’s been so long since we had a section of any of Apple’s events dedicated to Macs (I recall the 2013 announcement of the ‘can’t innovate my a**’ announcement of the celebrated but then sidelined Mac Pro as being the last one). Macs, in general (expect last year’s new Macbooks), haven’t seen big updates for the last couple of years (my Macbook Air wants new processors, and a retina display!) and if Apple does decide to highlight them and announce big updates (Macbook Pro with that OLED touch panel, looking at you), it’ll probably be in an event dedicated to them later this year (which hopefully also sees Apple simplify their iPad product line and bring feature parity across it). But still, it’ll be nice to hear them talk about Macs and iPads more than just mention them while demoing macOS Sierra and iOS 10.

I’ll be glued to my screen at 10:30 PM (IST) tonight to watch what Apple has to show and hear what they have to say. Here’s hoping that Apple makes all our wishes (the relevant and plausible ones related to Apple’s products and services) come true.

If you liked what you read, do like this post and leave your comments. You can also follow/subscribe so that you don’t miss out on a single post that goes up here. You can follow me on Twitter at @Anik_97 or write to me at aniket.j.sharma@gmail.com.

Originally published at techtastic.wordpress.com on September 7, 2016.

--

--

Aniket Sharma
The Unprofessionals

Genius, Billionaire, Playboy.. I wish! Geek, Tech Enthusiast, Bibliophile, Trying-To-Be-Blogger, Once-A-Month-Witty.