An Ethereal Passenger

Arundhati Gupta
The Unpublished Diary
2 min readOct 14, 2019
Picture Credits: Akshat Garg (@akshatgarg27)

We came alone in this world… And, will also have to leave alone… But, we come across many passengers on this voyage (called Life). Among the ones we come across, some teach us important lessons, while others become friends. But, some of us are blessed to meet the rare angels, covered in flesh and blood. Read on to see the image of one such angel in the following verse from the diary of a girl, who is one among those blessed souls…

Like the gentle day, Before the wheels of Phoebus,
Roundabout dapples the drowsy east with spots of grey,
You dawned the tenebrous dusk of my life
With thoughts so wise and gay.

The rheum in my eyes
Whenever I smile,
Narrates my lies
To you from a mile.

How often I wonder
As I remember the days from the old calendar,
When my heart was shattered into pieces
Without a reason, Oh Jesus!

’Tis the bruise of many days
Still, I have faith,
Reflects my February face
My sentiments so chaste.

Come, hold my hand
To heal and mend,
And be my strength
Until the end.

You’ve been by my side
When I was dead from inside.
I need you again,
For now, I cry in the rain.

You cannot see me sob
Because you love me, of course.
You wanna see me succeed
Because you care indeed.

You’re the sun of my smile
And the grace of my style
You’re a gift of God
To me, from above.

Weak might be my verse
Still, I hope I deserve,
Praise but concern
For the heart you govern.

[Credits: The first two lines of the poem have been taken from Act V Scene III of one of the very well-known plays, Much Ado About Nothing, written by William Shakespeare, the greatest dramatist of all times.]

Do check out more work from my diary at “The Unpublished Diary”. :)

--

--