A 16 year old’s outsider Point of View on the Israel vs Palestine conflict

Mahan Nourian
The Unscripted
Published in
4 min readJun 13, 2024
Source: https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/israel-vs-palestine-investigation-dennes-torres-m1rof

I am outsider in this conflict.

I am not Palestinian nor Israelian.

I do not believe that one side is clearly in the right.

What I do believe in, is the value of human life, and the irony that is surrounding this whole conflict.

I understand that I am a teenager, and what I believe in might change with maturity, but the reason that I am writing this article, is to show how just because I am young, my voice and opinions still matter, and I also hope to bring new perspectives to the topic.

“The golden way is to be friends with the world and to regard the whole human family as one”- Mahatma Gandhi

What is currently happening in Gaza is simply horrifying. It is hard to watch anything anymore without seeing a news topic about the horrific ways Palestinian or Israeli children are killed. I vividly remember seeing the images of a Palestinian father carrying his decapitated baby and feeling shocked that something like this could happen in this day and age.

Unfortunately, such tragedies are not uncommon nowadays. The death toll in this conflict continues to rise daily by hundreds, if not thousands, through airstrikes and other inhumane acts of violence. As of June 2024, over 30,000 people have been killed and over 70,000 injured. While it’s true that Palestinians have suffered significantly higher casualties than Israelis, this disparity should not diminish the value of each Israeli life lost. An Israeli boy’s life should matter just as much as a Palestinian boy’s life, and vice versa. Every life lost is a profound tragedy, regardless of which side it belongs to.

This brings me to my point, in which I consistently see less and less support for both the innocent Israeli and Palestinian citizens who are dying in these horrific ways. From my personal experiences, most people vocal about this topic often choose one side or the other. It is rare to find someone genuinely trying to find a middle ground and grieve the losses on both sides.

First of all, I understand that this is a very complex and controversial issue. The roots of this conflict go back centuries, and everyone has their reasons for supporting one side. It’s not as simple as just understanding both sides of the argument. However, what I want to highlight is that both sides commonly advocate for a peaceful resolution, such as the two-state solution, which is still controversial, but has gained popularity over the years.

But if the majority on both sides want a peaceful resolution, why isn’t more work being done to put their differences aside and achieve the resolution they both advocate for? Why does hatred remain at the forefront, with each side trying to tear the other down rather than cooperate to find solutions and advocate for a shared goal?

I do not think supporting Israel or Palestine makes one inherently wrong. The end goal for both sides is right in front of them, and it is a matter of taking action, understanding the other side, and working for a better future for the thousands of children and people currently affected by this war.

For anyone who believes that violence is the answer, I ask you this: If what you are advocating for is never-ending bloodshed and centuries of hatred, then yes, you are correct. But if you are advocating for the end of bloodshed on both or even just one side, what does the violence solve? How many more innocent people will die because you are too busy trying to tear the other side down rather than work towards a common goal?

In my 16 years on this Earth, I have learned that violence is never the answer. War is a rich man’s game and a poor man’s fight. Some may say I am naive, but I believe that being naive is the ability I possess that allows me to view obstacles with a lens of love rather than hate, warmth rather than cold, and cooperation rather than separation. Being naive has helped me believe in people and understand that no one is inherently evil or bad — they are complex, just as we all are.

So, as a 16-year-old with much to learn in this world, I ask you all to try to understand the other side and work together rather than tear each other apart. What is happening in Gaza is urgent, and we don’t have much time to save the thousands of innocent lives if everyone keeps fighting. Please, for the sake of the innocent Palestinian or Israeli children who have dreams and aspirations to do great things, do not let hatred be the cause of their untimely deaths. Instead, work together and put your differences aside, so that boy or girl can live to see another day.

A Palestinian boy and Israeli boy being friends with one another

Thank You for reading this article. It took me a lot of time to write it, and I put a lot of thought into it because it is a topic which means a lot to me. I am a Muslim, and I pray for the well beings on both sides on the conflict, and I hope it is resolved soon, even tho that is easier said than done.

Here is a YouTube video which I believe if you liked my article you should check out!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_Jj8vne0ca0

Thank You for your time,

Mahan Nourian

--

--

Mahan Nourian
The Unscripted

A Young Man just trying his best to share his opinions and voice to the world❤️.