Invisible Wounds

Love. Patience. Time

Armando Macias Jr.
The Unscripted
6 min readJun 30, 2024

--

Introduction: The Unseen Wounds of War

Veterans face a big and often difficult change when they leave the military and return to normal life. A lot of people who have been through war have mental health problems that aren’t always obvious. This article talks about the mental health problems veterans face, the lack of tools available to them after they leave the service, and the shockingly high suicide rates. It does this by focusing on the “silent wars” that our soldiers continue to fight long after they return home.

“Invisible wounds are the hardest to heal, for their closure depends on the love of others, patience and understanding, and the gift of time”

Seeking Purpose: My Journey to the Military

Before I joined the service, I was trying to figure out what my life was all about. Despite having a wonderful girlfriend and attending college, my job at the bank felt unfulfilling, and I couldn’t shake the feeling that something significant was missing. I greatly admired veterans returning from war because of their sense of respect and dignity. That’s why I wanted to help my country and feel the same way. Because of this need, I did something very “bad”: I quit my job, dropped out of college, and broke up with my girlfriend to join the military. You could hire me for any job based on my ASVAB scores, but I really wanted to get revenge for 9/11. I chose to become a sapper with the First Infantry Division, also known as “The Fighting First” or “The Big Red One.” Despite the possibility of injury or death, I remained unfazed. There was no fight that the people who died in the Twin Towers picked, and I wanted to fight for them. I couldn’t turn down the call. I didn’t know about the invisible cuts that were waiting for me at that time.

Facing Danger for a Greater Purpose

As a sapper, you had to focus on moving quickly, counter-moving, and staying alive. Our job was to get rid of roadside bombs before any other team, gather information, and face the enemy directly. We had to do well so that our brothers and sisters behind us would be safe. Knowing that our work had directly saved lives gave it a huge sense of meaning. On the other hand, it was one of the most dangerous jobs in the service, with the highest rates of death and suicide.

“The true soldier fights not because he hates what is in front of him, but because he loves what is behind him.” G.K. Chesterton

The Mental Health Struggles of Veterans

Veterans have special mental health problems because of their time in the military. People who have been in war often have PTSD, depression, anxiety, and drug abuse. The U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) says that every year, 11–20% of veterans who fought in Operations Iraqi Freedom and Enduring Freedom have PTSD. This shocking number shows how war affects the minds of those who fight for our freedoms. These problems are crucial to me. I got a Purple Heart after being hurt by small arms fire and IEDs. The injuries were extremely severe, including traumatic head injuries and several concussions. But the scars on my mind have been especially challenging to deal with. Because I have PTSD, I feel alone and avoid doing things I used to enjoy. I also struggle with the shame of talking about my experiences.

Misunderstanding PTSD: The Movie Myth vs. Reality

Unfortunately, movies and other forms of popular media frequently portray PTSD inaccurately. It is sad that the media frequently portrays PTSD sufferers in a negative light, perpetuating harmful stereotypes about their mental health. The symptoms of this complex mental disorder include persistent vigilance, sadness, flashbacks, and anxiety. Our veterans still face stigmatization that makes it harder for them to seek care, even if these indications do not indicate aggressiveness or instability.

A Scarcity of Resources: The System is Failing

The resources provided to soldiers, despite their serious mental health problems, are horribly inadequate. A lot of veterans have to drive a long way to get care because some areas don’t have any VA facilities at all, and in others, the wait time for VA services is long. The shame surrounding mental health problems can also keep soldiers from getting the help they desperately need. The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine say that less than half of veterans who need mental health treatment as they come home actually get it. Getting rid of this care gap is important to keep veterans’ mental health problems from getting worse. It’s been a mixed bag for me with the VA. I have gotten some help, but government red tape and long wait times make me feel even more alone and frustrated.

Employment Discrimination: The Hidden Cost of Service

The shame that comes with having PTSD and serving in the military also hurts soldiers’ chances of getting a job. Employers who don’t understand PTSD and think it makes people “crazy” or dangerous can make it challenging to schedule therapy sessions. This false belief can hurt relationships at work and make veterans even less likely to get the help they need. Even though I have a Purple Heart, I have been discriminated against at work. Some employers see my time in the war and my PTSD as problems instead of strengths because they think I might be violent or unstable. This bias has led to job losses for me, casting doubt on the perceived goodness and nobleness of my service and efforts. Like a lot of veterans, I want to make a difference and find my place in society, but it’s challenging when people don’t trust your past or the war you fought in.

The Tragic Reality: Veteran Suicide Rates

A lot of soldiers have mental health problems, and the high suicide rate is one of the saddest things about it. As of 2019, the VA’s National Veteran Suicide Prevention Annual Report shows that the suicide rate for veterans in the US was 52.3% higher than that for non-veterans. The sad fact that 17 veterans die by suicide every day shows how badly we need better mental health care and funding. Even though there have been many legislative attempts to stop veteran suicide and provide more resources, lawmakers often block these plans. Some argue that veterans, accustomed to making sacrifices, should “tough it out,” while others assert that discussing PTSD and their mental health could alienate potential helpers. These kinds of views make it worse for many veterans to feel alone and helpless.

Moving Forward: What Needs to Change

To address the mental health crisis among veterans, we need to implement several measures:

1. Improve Mental Health Care Accessibility: The VA must expand its services and reduce wait times to ensure all veterans receive timely care.

2. Reduce Stigma: Public awareness campaigns and peer support programs should normalize seeking mental health care among veterans.

3. Offer Comprehensive Support: Integrate mental health care with other support services, such as employment assistance, housing, and family counseling, to address veterans’ holistic needs.

4. Research and Innovation: Continue researching veterans’ mental health needs and develop innovative support systems and interventions.

Honoring Our Heroes

Men and women who serve in the military give up a lot for our country. It is our job to make sure they get the help they need when they get home. Veterans require more than just medical care to address their mental health issues. We also need to show them respect and gratitude for their contributions. We can help veterans live full lives after their service and lower the tragic number of veterans who commit suicide if we understand veterans’ struggles and work to give them the tools they need. My own story shows how important it is to make changes right away. By telling my story, I hope to shed light on the problems that many veterans face and encourage people to take action to make the world a better place for all veterans.

Thank you for listening…

--

--

Armando Macias Jr.
The Unscripted

Armando, is a writer from Denver, PhD in organizational leadership, crafting “The Waiting Game” novel and supporting combat veterans and leaders everywhere.