Resistance is all around us

Tess Brigham, MFT
How to Kick-Ass in your Twenties
3 min readJun 6, 2019

Phew!!!! This past month is finally OVER. I don’t know about you but things have been really rough for me.

Things have been a little rocky in all areas of my life and biz recently. And I want to be honest, I am human too.

When I go through difficult times, it allows me to reevaluate my life in many different ways.

And in doing so this past month, I kept hitting this wall over and over again until I realized what was happening…

This week’s topic: Resistance is all around us

I was resisting change.

Not sure you know what resistance looks like?

It’s when you have a great idea or you’ve been considering making a change for a while and you decide you’re going to stop late night snacking or start meditating in the morning. It feels so good and so right.

You wake up with such enthusiasm to start your day and you feel great and then it becomes 10pm and you’re tired, you’ve had a long, hard day and you think to yourself, “I’m hungry I need a snack.” But wait…you’ve vowed to not snack late at night but you find yourself drawn to your kitchen.

First the excuses, “I didn’t have a big dinner.” Procrastination sets in, “I should probably start on a Monday.” Perfectionism tells you, “I ate kind of a crappy dinner and this is really about health so I should start next week when I can eat perfectly each day.”

That’s resistance. It takes on many forms but the outcome is always the same…you don’t change…you stay the same. There is a reason why resistance shows up. We resist making changes in our lives because change is hard and we’re genuinely scared of what will happen if we stop a habit or start a new one.

So what do you do?

Action Step: Resist…it’s that simple

We all know that saying, “If you see something…say something.” Well I want you to apply saying to your resistance. The moment you recognize you’re making an excuse, procrastinating or being a perfectionist, I want you to stop and say to yourself, “This is my resistance.”

Awareness is always the first step. You know are aware that your excuses are just excuses that are preventing you from changing. Now that you’re aware you can no longer ignore your excuses, ignore the many ways in which you procrastinate or ignore that your perfectionism isn’t “just one of your quirks” but a strong form of resistance holding you back.

I challenge you to identify one (1) thing in your life you want to change. When you think about this habit you want to adopt or a habit you want to break, what do you tell yourself about this habit?

Whatever you just thought in your head — that’s your resistance. That resistance is keeping you from changing so now what are you going to do?

That’s right….you’re going to resist the resistance and go towards that goal.

This isn’t easy so don’t beat yourself up for making mistakes and getting caught up in your excuses. Just keep naming it and pushing forward.

Have a great week.

--

--