10 Tweets On How To Become An Urbanist Without Getting A Degree

I Love Twitter, For Exactly This Reason!

Patrick McDonnell
The Usual

--

Late last night, at about the witching hour, I was tweeted at by @JacobScottMoses, a student at the University of North Texas in Denton, wondering how to get started in writing ‘bout urbanism.

It got me thinking about some recent conversations I’ve had with folks who also want to get involved but don’t know where to start.

As Urbanists, we take it for granted that we’ve read and studied Jacobs, Moses, Whyte, Lynch and so on. We take for granted the knowledge that we’ve applied, and the technical abilities that we have that seem out of reach to so many unless you have a degree.

In the span of 23 minutes, over 10 tweets, a simple question turned into a conversation about about where to start, taking a few actions, and how to become an Urbanist without getting a degree.

11:42 pm
11:43 pm
11:50 pm
11:51 pm
11:54 pm
11:55 pm
11:57 pm
12:02 am
12:04 am
12:05 am

This kinda stuff happens on my Twitter all the time. Feel free to drop in and more interesting convos in the (tweets and replies) portion tab. Also, if you want to see all the urbanist/marketing content I create check out my Tumblr for a daily look into my universe.

--

--