Surviving and Thriving in an Educational Doctorate Program

Kari Goin
UX Academic
Published in
3 min readJan 28, 2019

thoughts and reflections from educational doctorate students

An educational doctorate (EdD) is a degree that seeks to develop leaders who create and lead inclusive and diverse learning organizations. The EdD program selects students who are also working professionals interested in inspiring change in their current field.

Ten Graduate students offer advice in getting starting in an educational doctorate:

  • Be kind to your own time. An EdD program is a LOT of work and something I did not initially realize was how difficult social time/family visits would impact my ability to get my work done which can affect your mental health. (self-care is really important!)
  • Most important thing to do is get organized and feel organized around school work and due dates.
  • Use all writing resources available! As someone who made a switch from a hard science field to the field to education, I really needed support in my writing. I reached out to our department writing center during the winter term of my first year and it was so helpful I wished I reached out to her sooner. This helped me to visualize my dissertation and find connections I hadn’t seen before.
  • Embrace the grind. Working towards an EdD while working full time, part time as a graduate assistant or both is not an easy endeavor and at times you will feel completely lost. Just keep going and soon enough it will all make sense.
  • Connect with your professors. There is no reason to feel alone, or even embarrassed to ask for help or clarification. I have never regretted connecting with professors outside of class, and always walk away feeling not only refreshed but more confident and proud to be part of the program.
  • Make sure your people (family, friends, spouse, pets, etc) know you love them and that you’re doing your best to stay connected. Don’t let yourself believe that they are assuming worst intentions and think you are neglecting them or your relationship. Be honest about where you’re at, what they mean to you, and build in time to connect.
  • I felt defeated in some of my research. Some parts were obvious and some were not.
  • In feeling defeated: I can’t change it now, but I’m addressing it and one day I can evolve it.
  • Talk out your research. Talk to people about it. Explaining it out loud is another way to help visualize what you are trying to say. Try explaining your ideas to people not in your field, they can help you to identify areas that may need more explanation.
  • Choose a committee chair and committee members whose objectives are to make sure you graduate (not hold you back).
  • You’re not alone! Draw on the support of your cohort. The experience of working towards an EdD can make you feel isolated and lonely, but you have a small community of people who are going through the same process. Commiserate. Laugh. Cry. Collaborate. They’re your people and your new network that you will take with you to and through graduation.

--

--

Kari Goin
UX Academic

Senior UX Designer and Educator. UX is for Everyone.