Huge Problems that need to be solved

Ankit Bansal
Design And Technology
2 min readSep 7, 2017

Recently I was travelling to my workplace in Bangalore. The city has just been through a massive shower and in the process, a lot of potholes all along the road had been exposed. This made the traffic move slower and what was a 20 min 5-km journey, turned into one spanning 1.15 hours! It was an utterly deplorable experience.

Just then, as I looked forward I saw a tiny kitten walk onto the road from the divider. The cars were still and it made its way to the rear tire of one of them. Desperately hoping that it would get away from the path of the tire in time, I clenched my fists. However, within a split second, the car moved, and ran over the cat’s skull. The kitten bounced and shrieked in pain, as other passing cars tried to avoid it, and in less than a minute, it lay on the road, motionless. I had just witnessed a disaster that shook me to my core.

This day was turning from bad to worse. Having seen this early in the morning, all I could think of was much we have ruined our mother earth. From booming greenery and ecological prosperity to an urban jungle full of dust, filth and destruction of other beings. Our so called ‘progress’ has been nothing short of a nightmare for our fellow beings and each step we take towards urbanization and growth takes up deeper into the damagin spiral we have created for ourselves.

In Bangalore, in particular, there are a lot many things that need to be fixed. Looking at this city and conducting research on others, I can say confidently that such issues need to be tackled if we want to continue growing in a sustainable manner. A few things I could think of were:

  1. Urgent filling up on potholes and proper construction of roadways.
  2. Better city planning, to keep with incoming population
  3. New, better modes of transport in the future. Our roads are jam packed and it is only likely to get worse until we innovate.
  4. A different, unusable lane from ambulances and other emergency vehicles like Fire trucks.
  5. The option to work from home by all companies lying on such roads.

Considering what I had just experienced, I felt that the work I do in an MNC, moving step by step towards better technology is very inadequate to the kind of pressing issues that need to be solved as soon as possible. There are bigger problems that need to be addressed! The planet is dying, slowly, painfully.

Most people seem to have turned a blind eye to these issues. All we (myself included) do is plod along with our daily existence and fight to get to work. Somebody needs to take charge, and start working on the humongous difficulties approaching us head on.

I want to start tackling these issues, and start working towards a better planet. I believe that if multiple individuals start doing their bit, a difference can be made.

Thoughts, suggestions, methods to tackle appreciated.

From

A Hopeful Citizen

--

--