Weekly Vegan Digest! #2

The Vegan Map
The Vegan Map
Published in
3 min readJun 26, 2017

Vegans of the week.

via theveganmap.com

theveganmap.com

Amandah — Health Coach

2.5k Followers Instagram

“I’ve been vegan since I was 11. I went vegan for the animals, but as a benefit I went from being “the sick kid” always in the ER or home sick to being the healthiest kid in my school! I’m currently a full-time fitness instructor & health coach, have cooked (vegan, obviously) professionally, and my boyfriend, who is also vegan and I run Mooove & Gobble Retreats, which is a charity retreat that we hold at farm sanctuaries (we hope to have our own one day!). We do a bootcamp, a seasonal meal, and time with the animals- all of the money goes to the sanctuaries! 🙏🏻✨”

Growing up with animals surrounding me has been something that has humbled my view of life as I’ve grown older. Our instincts are to care for the animals of this planet not commoditise and mass produce them as products. Only a deluded society would base the value of a living being purely on what it can bring to us.

I Like Ramen Co.

GC’s first 🍃Vegan🍃 Ramen! Tues nights @ Bine in Nobby’s. Local market scene 🍜

700 Followers Instagram

My partner Ash and I have been vegan now for about 4 months and were vegetarian for about a year and a half before that. We were living over in Belize doing some volunteer work and living amongst a large group of vegans so had to adapt our diets. The new ingredients and animal product substitutes excited us so when we came back to Australia, we turned vegetarian.It was only 4 months ago we turned full vegan after watching a couple of provoking documentaries and haven’t looked back.
In relation to our food, developing the rich, full flavoured broths was and is quite challenging but after a lot of trial and error, we stuck with our Shiitake Mushroom broth, Spicy Kimchi and Faux Chicken.
I’m an electrician by trade but have always had a massive passion for food and flavours. The change in job sectors definitely has been challenging but it’s allowing me to really enjoy life while loving what I do, making people happy through ramen!
We are really happy with the response from the public and more so the vegan community around bris and and the Gold Coast! We are really enjoying working at Miami Matketta as well as Bine Beer Bar(on Tuesdays) but are hoping to one day open our own Ramen and tap beer bar! But for now, let the good times roll ✌️🍜✌️”

--

--