Back on the (semi) vegan grind

But why am I still so tired?

Jen Ushe
The Vegan Step-mama
2 min readDec 5, 2013

--

For the past two years or more I’ve been struggling with extreme exhaustion. When it first started, I was falling asleep on the couch every night by 8:30 pm; not just the dozing-off kind, but the I-started-dreaming-in-two-minutes kind. Granted I probably wasn’t eating well or wasn’t working out as often as I could. Regardless, I went to the doctor and because he found I was borderline hyothyroid, he put me on some pills. Great! Problem Solved! Until about 6 months later…same problem. The Doc ups my prescription. Phew…I can’t wait to have more energy again.

Fast forward a year and I feel like I’m in the same place all over again. Several people have told me that the exhaustion is from the wedding and that it will take a while to catch up on sleep.

If it really takes over a month to catch up on sleep from my wedding then I am most certainly never having a wedding ever again, because this is ridiculous.

When I first started eating vegan, I remember having quite a bit of energy. Now I am back to eating somewhat vegan (maybe I’ll call it “I still want to butter my bread” vegan) and am hoping I’ll regain my energy soon. As you can imagine having a four year old step-son, who is currently upstairs screaming for me because he doesn’t want his dad to give him a bath, can be pretty exhausting. Not to mention that I spend all day with teenagers. But I find it hard to believe that these three factors are really making me this tired.

Could it be that the veganism is making me tired? This article says it’s a possibility if I’m not careful. If I’m going to continue eating like this, I’ll definitely need to learn how to do it the right way. I will say, though, that I really enjoy experimenting with different vegan recipes, especially baked goods!

Right now I have Vegan Zucchini Bread in the oven, which I obviously added dairy-free chocolate chips to. And just this weekend I made the best cookies ever. Chewy Vegan chocolate chocolate-chip cookies!

Well…if I can’t be awake at least I’ll be well fed.

Until next time.

--

--