Vegan Eating…

Changing eating habits after years of pizza and goodies!

Jen Ushe
The Vegan Step-mama
3 min readNov 19, 2013

--

I never used to be a healthy eater. I can recall toasting mini bagels and bringing the butter in the living room with my while I ate, because God forbid the butter melted and I couldn’t see it. Every Friday, my family would order out for pizza. I opted for the chicken parm sub and a two liter bottle of Mountain Dew, which I would without a doubt, drink all by myself. It wasn’t until last year that I discovered Mountain Dew has vegetable oil in it, so I wonder how much damage I did to my stomach over the years.

Fast forward over ten years and here I am trying to change my eating habits. I’m not a huge girl, but I could benefit from losing 10-15 pounds like most people. This weekend, after much pestering by a friend of mine, I finally watched the movie Forks Over Knives. This video chronicles the benefits of a whole-foods, plant-based diet; decrease in cancer, less risk of diabetes, increased energy. Who wouldn’t want that? It was time to change my habits for good.

Yesterday I made two awesome recipes! The first was a quinoa salad of sorts. Simple and delicious! My husband said he didn’t like it, but he went for seconds, so I think he lied.

Quinoa, Spinach, Red Onion, and Garbanzao Beans.

When my stepson arrived from his mom’s we immediately started baking! There is nothing more enjoyable (and aggravating at the same time) than baking with a four year old. Inevitably, there will be flour all over the floor and counter, not to mention all over each other. I decided to make some vegan chocolate chip cookies. Yes that’s right: no eggs, no dairy. But the question is…are they good?! They are so good that we managed to eat all but five of them in two days! We used a great recipe from VegWeb and substituted coconut milk for water.

Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies

Vegan chocolate chip cookies.

And in the oven now… Vegan blueberry, chocolate chip muffins!

Vegan blueberry, chocolate-chip muffins.
Finished Product!

I cannot wait to taste them…. Happy (Vegan) baking!

--

--