Pay Attention to Those Who Work in Silence

Everything you hear and read is an opportunity to learn something new that you can use later.

Ryan Porter
Better Content
Published in
6 min readMay 3, 2021

--

Pay Attention to Those who Work in Silence
Photo by Albert Vincent Wu on Unsplash

“I’m not posting on Instagram until I actually have something to share. Until then, I grind in silence.”

A business partner said this to me in a coffee shop. I was buzzed off caffeine and laughed without paying him much mind. But, looking back, there’s something genuinely inspiring about what he said.

The fact is many people share their whole lives on social media.

  • Twitter is for social commentary.
  • People use Instagram to show just how great their lives are.
  • LinkedIn is for attention seekers who probably hate their jobs.

I’m not above scrolling through my feed to waste some time. I like feeling connected to those I follow; even if it makes me sad because I’m at work while others are at the beach playing volleyball on a perfect day.

I’m more interested in those who post sporadically. These people are up to something. They’re unique. They haven’t fallen prey to flexing on the Internet for likes.

We should take notes like they’re our college professor.

Constant posting is a waste of…

--

--

Ryan Porter
Better Content

I’ve helped generate $20 million with video marketing. Now I help solopreneurs get more leads: https://videomarketingsecrets.carrd.co/