Conte coy on the future of Chelsea centre back

Alex Boyd
Breaking Views
Published in
2 min readNov 6, 2017

Chelsea manager Antonio Conte has said that he is unsure of David Luiz’s future at the club after dropping him for the 1–0 victory over Manchester United on Sunday.

The Blues appeared to be much more assured defensively in the absence of the Brazilian centre back, as his replacement Andreas Christensen shone.

When asked about Luiz’s future after the game, Conte said: “I don’t know. He has to work really hard otherwise they are on the bench or in the stand.”

Sunday’s victory put Chelsea within one point of ex-manager Jose Mourinho’s Old Trafford side, ahead of the international break.

Conte’s decision to leave out such a big dressing room personality was questioned in the wake of the team news, but the Italian was quick to defend his choices.

He said: “It’s very simple because I think the coach has to make the best decision for the team and tonight the best decision for the team was to play with Christensen and on the bench to have Ampadu and other young players.”

“I must take the best decision for the club — not for a single player.”

Andreas Christensen, replacement for the 30 year old Brazilian, was integral in helping his side achieve their fifth clean sheet of the season.

The Danish international said: “I was happy for us to win after the midweek game. Especially in the first half we played very well. I would say it is one of the biggest games for me in my career.”

His manager lead the praise for the 21 year old youth academy product: “I think Christensen played an amazing game and I was very happy for this.”

--

--