Could the decriminalisation of personal drug use benefit the public?

Alfie Hyland
3 min readDec 8, 2019

--

A Commons Select Committee has published a report stating that the possession of illegal drugs for personal use should be decriminalised.

Last year 2,917 people died due to poisoning by drug misuse, that’s a 17% increase on 2017.

Hospital admissions for poisoning by drug misuse also increased 6% since 2017/18, reaching a staggering 18,053.

Yet the UK government will not budge, revealing it has no plans to decriminalise personal drug use.

What is the decriminalisation of personal drug use?

The decriminalisation of personal drug use would reduce or completely erase penalties for the possession of small quantities of illegal drugs.

However, It would still be illegal to distribute drugs.

Those who support the decriminalisation of personal drug use believe it could help in reducing harm among those who take such substances.

Sam Forrest, criminology student at the University of Portsmouth said: “By reducing the stigma surrounding personal drug use people can learn about safe ways to take drugs without being judged.

“Not only would it reduce crime as it would no longer be a criminal offence to possess drugs for personal use but it could also potentially reduce crime as users would feel more comfortable seeking help for their addictions”.

Such a change in the law would also benefit those of the public who self-medicate.

For those who suffer from chronic pain, Crohn’s disease, insomnia and a range of other ailments have no choice but to obtain drugs such as cannabis illegally to help ease their suffering.

Mark Ellis was diagnosed with epilepsy at the age of 18. Now at the age of 46, he treats his epilepsy with a combination of prescribed cannabinoids and cannabis he buys from street dealers.

Photographer n/a. License to use Creative Commons Zero. Retrieved from:https://www.pxfuel.com/en/free-photo-xphtl

He said: “The process to receive medical cannabis in plant form is intense and for someone who struggles with stress-related epilepsy such as me it’s easier to get it delivered to my house for a fee.

“Ten years ago I visited a neurologist for a check-up. The neurologist asked if I still smoked weed. I replied yes and he told me to carry on smoking as it would help with my condition.

“That’s part of the reason I smoke two joints at night after work to chill me out and help me sleep.

“I guess if they decriminalise personal drug use I wouldn’t feel as nervous when I buy it.

For those illegally distributing drugs this step could signal the beginning of the end.

If personal drug use is decriminalised it could only be a matter of time before drugs such as cannabis are legalised.

Taken by Alfie Hyland.

An ex-drug dealer in the Portsmouth area said: “It’s a good thing in my opinion, although it could have affected my business in the long run. Decriminalisation is a step in the right direction as it will open up a dialogue.

“There’s also a big problem at the minute with high strength pills coming in from Amsterdam and if more people were educated on how to take these pills safely it would decrease the number of deaths for sure”.

However, the decriminalisation of personal drug use could also have its downsides as an increase in buyers could potentially mean dealers would cut their product to make it go further.

They added: “People I’ve met in that line of work couldn’t care less about the quality of the product. I’ve heard of people using rat poison, glass, I’ve even heard of people cutting ket with creatine.

“I also worry about big companies getting involved and cutting out the average person from the growing process because they could have a criminal record for the possession of illegal drugs”.

--

--