Do students feel protected from sexual assault at university?

Lauren Tidmarsh
Breaking Views
Published in
4 min readNov 2, 2020

Sexual assault is a big issue among higher education (HE) students. A study from Revolt Sexual Assault, in partnership with The Student Room forum, found that almost 62% of students and graduates have experienced sexual violence at university. Fifty per cent of these students said they experienced sexual harassment and 42% experienced sexual assault.

With HE students facing these levels of sexual assault during their time in education, universities have had a certain amount of pressure on them to provide a safe support system. Around three out of four cases go unreported, so making sure students feel they have a safe place to report cases of sexual violence should be a high priority for universities.

I spoke to three students to get their opinions, and see if they feel safe around campus.

Rebecca Smith*, a student in her final year of university, talked about her personal experience with sexual assault at university.

“I’ve experienced different forms of sexual violence on more than one occasion during my time at uni, and I’d say I’ve definitely had it happen to me a lot more at uni than when I lived at home,” she said.

“Most of the time it’s smaller things, like groping or catcalling. They happen frequently but I feel like that level of sexual abuse isn’t as big of a deal”.

I questioned Smith about why she felt as though forms of assault such as unwanted touch or verbal assault weren’t “as big of a deal”. Her response was that “those incidents just feel more normalised around people my age. I suppose me and my female friends experience this so frequently that it’s just expected”.

This is a stance that many people appear to have on verbal assault and unwarranted touching in a sexual manner, despite the survey conducted by Revolt showing that this is the most common form of assault.

Yet all forms can be just as traumatising to an individual and feeling as though this is not as serious as more physical forms of sexual violence could contribute to why only 6% of those who had experienced sexual assault or harassment reported their experience of sexual violence to the university or the police.

Fifty six per cent of students involved in the survey said they did not report sexual crimes to their university as they thought it “wasn’t serious enough”; 35% felt too ashamed to report it; and the remaining 29% didn’t know how to make a report.

Charlotte Johnson*, a recent university graduate, shared her opinions on the level of support her university provided, and the type of support system they had during her time there.

“From what I know, my university had a page on its website which was for traumatic experiences you may have at uni, but I don’t think they have anything in particular for dealing with sexual assault.”

“In my opinion, a page on your university website isn’t enough. I think students should be actively taught about sexual assault, and told how to deal with it when a friend approaches them after they’ve been assaulted.

“If someone approached you saying they had been robbed, I don’t think anyone would doubt them and people would instantly help them report the incident. So how come when it’s sexual assault the victim is left to deal alone?”

To get a different perspective on the issue, I also spoke to a male student.

James Edwards*, in his final year of university, explained his outlook of sexual violence in university.

“I have no personal experience with it, but I’ve seen how damaging it can be. In my first year of university I had two female friends who were assaulted by the same guy. When they both told our friends what had happened, they were instantly rejected and made out to be liars. Only me and two other friends believed them and to this day we can see the effects this had on them.”

This response shows quite a difference between perspectives and experiences of sexual assault within gender. Six per cent of males experience sexual assault at university and it is important that the conversation about sexual violence happens without a gender bias.

When I asked my interviewees whether they feel safe at university, both Johnson and Smith told me they did not.

Johnson said: “I don’t think my university really cared too much about it, there wasn’t a particular ‘safe space’ we could visit if we’d been a victim of sexual assault. I don’t think anyone who could actually make a difference to this is listening.”

Smith added: “I can’t think of anything worse than walking around uni on my own, even during the day. It just feels like such a risk to me.”

On the other hand, Edwards said: “I feel safe around the university personally, but I’m terrified when my friends tell me they’re walking alone. I’m always happy to call them or go meet them so they feel that tiny bit safer.”

The same themes seem to emerge in the ongoing conversations about sexual assault. Victims are left to cope on their own and often blame themselves for what happens.

Hopefully studies and groups, such as Revolt Sexual Assault, will open a conversation about sexual violence so victims can feel more supported and more comfortable sharing their experiences.

Those affected by rape or sexual violence can contact Rape Crisis on 0808 802 9999 (England and Wales) or on 08088 01 03 02 (Scotland).

*Name has been changed to protect interviewee’s identity

--

--