Gosport girl to run London Marathon in memory of her grandad

Up2084473
Breaking Views
Published in
2 min readMar 30, 2023

A young girl from Gosport is training to run the London Marathon in memory of her grandad, who lost his battle with lung disease in 2020.

Sophie Hulse, 20, of Gunners Way, plans to run the London Marathon on April 23, 2023, for Team Breathe to raise money for the Asthma and Lung UK charity.

Sophie Hulse and grandad, Brian Hulse, at a family event.

By using her social media accounts to fundraise, Sophie’s raised £1,800 and hopes to make it to her goal of £2000.

‘I never expected so many people to donate, especially as times are tough,’ she said.

Sophie came from a close-knit family and was very close with her grandad. She described him as the centrepiece of a family built on love, care and kindness.

Sophie said: ‘My grandad was an amazing person, and as I grew up, we just got closer and closer.

Sophie and her grandad the day of Sophie’s school prom in 2019.

‘We knew that his condition would never get better, and just having him there was all we needed. Now he’s not here; it just feels like a huge part of the family has been taken away.’

Her grandad, Brian Hulse, died of chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) aged 79.

Sophie began training in December 2022 and is following a 17-week training programme.

She said: ‘At the start, I underestimated how hard it would be. My first run on the treadmill before I’d accepted my place, I couldn’t even run a kilometre.

‘Remembering my grandad’s struggle to breathe pushes me through. I think that how I’m feeling when I’m out of breath is how he constantly felt every day.’

Sophie ready for week 3 of her training programme.

Sophie remains optimistic about the marathon and said: ‘My thoughts are more positive, and I’m more focused on taking it in and enjoying the experience.’

--

--