How Europeans living in the UK perceive Brexit: “I’m scared”

Paulina Stepura
Breaking Views
Published in
1 min readMar 27, 2019

Britain was due to leave the EU on March 29 but recent events have delayed Brexit — and no one can be sure what will happen next.

The British have divided views on the UK’s departure from the EU. But how do those from other European countries such as Poland, who are living in the UK, feel about it?

Magda Wojciechowska said: “I’m scared of Brexit because I live in the UK with my family.

“I have children who are still at school and I am afraid for their future.”

Magda also said that Brexit makes her feel frustrated and angry.

She added: “After 14 years of living in the UK, working and paying taxes, I must prove again that I have the right to be here.”

Oliwia Gluchowska, the student who is working in the UK for five years, said: “I feel even more nervous than before, as I’ve realised that no one knows what’s going to happen.

“It can have an impact on anyone regardless of whether you are a student, full time employed or homeless.”

For Wojciech Wisniewski, an antique dealer, Brexit may impact on his business as “shipping prices will increase and clients will pay import tax”.

--

--