Possible dognappers spotted on popular walking route

Natasha M
Breaking Views
Published in
2 min readMay 17, 2021

A Helston dog owner may have narrowly avoided a dog theft on the popular walking route, Penrose.

Water technician, Ashleigh Krügel, 27, said she walked her dog, Sammy, at around 3.30pm on Easter Sunday.

Sammy was paddling in a stream near the Coronation Lake car park, when Miss Krügel noticed a couple “hovering” around her in a way that “didn’t feel like normal human behaviour.”

Ashleigh Krügel and her dog, Sammy (image: Ashleigh Krügel)

She said they were not wearing typical walking clothes and, when she turned towards them, they suddenly looked at the floor.

Miss Krügel said: “That’s when they started pacing. They started off five metres to my right and then five metres to my left, and I just stayed in the same place, just to let Sammy swim.

“Then all of a sudden, the male came down. There’s probably no reason you would want to come down to the water. I looked at him and then he looked at the woman and said something to her in a different language, but it was almost kind of whispered.”

Miss Krügel and Sammy fled towards some walkers in a nearby field and exited with them.

Dog theft statistics from Devon and Cornwall Police (infographic: Natasha Mashembo)

She said: “I don’t know if they were after my dog, I don’t know if they were just strange people, I don’t even know if they wanted anything, but I just find that it was very shifty behaviour. It made me uncomfortable. It made me fear for my dog’s life, I wasn’t really worried about mine.”

She added: “What is it going to take to change laws? Must someone get hurt? Does someone need to be killed?”

Dog theft is not currently a specific crime in the UK, with dogs regarded as property.

Miss Krügel said she took the appropriate steps to report the incident to police, but never received a reply.

--

--

Natasha M
Breaking Views

All articles written as part of my journalism degree.