Sandra makes a spectacle with handmade face masks

Claudia Wingrove
Breaking Views
Published in
Oct 22, 2020

Woman uses hobby to create masks suitable for glasses wearers — and people are loving them

Sandra Shunt’s range of face masks

After coming across a YouTube face mask tutorial, Sandra Shunt now has a flourishing account on Gumtree selling her hand-sewn face masks.

Sandra, from Southampton, typically used her sewing machine in her down time, adjusting tops or making clothes of her own.

“I find it therapeutic and economically trendy,” she said.

Sandra began sewing the designs with leftover fabric from previous projects and her mother, a glasses wearer, noted when wearing a mask that there was no discomfort as they were tight around the nose.

“I began to expand the patterns, and this caught the interest of my colleagues and friend, who began asking if they could pay me for personal designs,” she said.

People in her local area began asking about the masks through the neighbourhood app Nextdoor and Sandra’s daughter, a university student at Winchester (pictured left), pushed for her to start selling the products online.

“The main feedback I got from my designs were ‘it’s great that you can just wash them’. I would have people buying up to four designs because they’re so easy to clean and switch up.”

--

--