Statistics reveal half the population of Hampshire and Isle of Wight have suffered mental health difficulties in silence

UP936644
2 min readMay 9, 2022

--

Findings show that the dislike of talking about ‘feelings, emotions or thoughts’ was the most common reason Hampshire residents avoided seeking care.

Results show that 50% of participants experienced significant mental health difficulties that impacted their day-to-day living. 47% showed possible signs of depression or anxiety which is above the 43.4% UK average.

Assistant psychologist from Fareham, Veronica Zygmunt, explains; ‘Most people are unaware that depression and anxiety are a mental illness.’

The study showed that 21% of the participants from Hampshire were unfamiliar with mental illness.

“The patients I work with have severe mood, anxiety and psychotic disorders including bipolar, depressive, PTSD and schizophrenia. If these are left untreated, they can become lifelong and leave people needing support from others all their lives.”

18 per cent of the participants from Hampshire said they would delay future care for over 6 months or never seek care at all. This raises concern over peoples understanding of mental illness.

“Mental illness involves prolonged changes in emotion, thinking or behaviour.” Said Veronica.

During her second year at university, Veronica recalls experiencing depression and anxiety but feeling ‘reluctant’ to speak up or go to therapy due to feeling ‘pressures’ from her degree.

“I had breakdowns every day for a whole year, I would call my mum every day in tears. But I felt like I couldn’t ask for external help because I was studying psychology and that I needed to sort myself out in order to succeed in my chosen career. It was not until my friends persuaded me to get therapy when I realised it was okay to do so and it helped me out so much.”

To view the entire study visit https://mentalhealth.surgoventures.org/uk

--

--