The forgotten generation: Being a university student during a pandemic

Up886671
Breaking Views
Published in
4 min readOct 26, 2020

Upon returning to University, students have faced dramatic changes to their education and social lives. Most classes have been moved online and clubbing has become a distant memory of how life used to be.

Being part of the “Covid generation” of students has raised many worries for those starting or returning to University, from mental health concerns to financial problems.

Almost every young person starting University will be nervous about moving away from home, the pressure of work and having to make new friends.

However, students this year have to face the added anxieties of the coronavirus pandemic. Whether it’s a fear of having to isolate, catching the virus or being away from vulnerable family members, it is inevitable that mental health will be an increasing issue.

For most students, the only way they can reach out for help is online or over the phone

Megan Eastwood, a second year fashion student at the University of Portsmouth, spoke about how she worries that a lack of routine that comes with online learning will negatively impact her mental health.

“I feel like I need routine or I make myself really (mentally) poorly, I start not eating continuously in the day, not going out for walks,” she said.

The worry around mental health problems is inevitably in the forefront of many parents minds too. The pandemic makes it increasingly harder for parents to travel to their children during a time of crisis.

I spoke to Kate Haigh, the parent of an international first year marketing student at the University of Leeds. She shared the anxieties she had around her daughter starting university in a foreign country during the pandemic.

“There was such a lot for her to cope with, it wasn’t just the pandemic. It was leaving home, going to uni, making friends, not being with her boyfriend, living in a new country.”

Support for mental health and student welfare has become crucial in these unprecedented times. It is important that students are able to access the help that they need.

The University of Portsmouth’s welfare service said in a statement: “This year there are increased concerns due to the pandemic and the effect that has on everyday living and studying for students.

“In general terms, we have seen an increase year on year in demand for our services, and we are not expecting this year to be any different in that respect.”

When discussing ways to cope with mental health, Anjeli Sharma, a third year psychology student at the University of Birmingham, said: “I’m planning to cope with my mental health at uni by making time for myself, doing things like meditation and yoga and using the university’s support facilities.

“One of the good things that has come out of the pandemic is that I wouldn’t have really used a lot of these services before and now I feel like they have become more accessible or I’m more inclined to apply to these things and start using them,” she added.

The anger from students regarding tuition fees is a constant discussion. Despite almost all teaching moving online following the pandemic, tuition fees still remain as high as previous years. Many students have taken to signing petitions — and though it generated thousands of signatures, it is yet to be discussed in Parliament.

Haigh said: “I think this particular year of students have been really duped by the Government because it was so obvious what was going to happen, the scientists were saying ‘do not send students back to university, they are going to spread covid and they are going to get covid’.”

Kate Haigh spoke about how her daughter is missing out on the social aspect of university as well as a face to face education.

“She has already paid for her fees and all of it so far has been online, she hasn’t met one person on her course because it has all been online in her room.”

The days of spontaneous weekend trips home to surprise family members are long gone. Many students moved away from their family not knowing when they may next go home due to restrictions and lockdown measures.

“I don’t want to not see my mum and my sister for three months and thats more the worry. They are a big part of my support unit,” said Megan Eastwood.

However, being away from vulnerable relatives allows young people to have more freedom without worrying about infecting high risk family members.

“I don’t feel like I’m putting anyone at risk. I’m quite confident that if any of my housemates got it they would be ok, whereas when I’m living with my family I am quite on edge,” said final year student Anjeli Sharma.

Leaving education is a scary experience at the best of times, let alone during a recession. The coronavirus pandemic has been hugely detrimental to the job market and employment rates. The office for National Statistics (ONS) found that the unemployment rate from June to August was 4.5% — an increase of 0.4% over the past three months.

“I don’t feel like I’m going to learn all the skills to the same length as if I was in class because I learn better being face to face with people,” said Megan. “It (online lectures) gets boring because you’re not as engaged.”

The impact on education and the future is a huge worry for current students. The teaching that is offered online requires self-motivation and focus that many people struggle to have without the encouragement of teachers and peers.

“I worry that it will impact on me getting a job because we are going into a recession and its not the best time to be looking for a job as a graduate,” said Anjeli.

“I worry about how it is going to impact my chances of getting into any graduate schemes.”

University students have undoubtedly become the forgotten generation during the pandemic. From mental health to financial issues, there are many anxieties that come with adjusting to the ‘new normal’.

--

--