Veganism — fad or fact?

KiffyClelland
Breaking Views
Published in
3 min readMar 31, 2018

Choosing a life of veganism has been questioned and pondered by many a scientist and normal day-to-day human. Is being a vegan just a diet fad or does it really mean more to be vegan?

This question has been posed to Megan Wilman, 23 from Guildford, and Chris Dudek, 20 from Winchester, both of whom are dedicated vegans but have very different reasons behind their life choice.

Megan revealed: “I’d flirted with vegetarianism at various points in my life and tried veganism in my first year of uni with only the vaguest idea of what it meant. I feel like this series of events eventually led to what I call the ‘lightbulb moment’.

“I’d learnt about the impact of animal agriculture on the environment and on our health and that, coupled with my love for animals, led to only one conclusion. Stop supporting it and become vegan.”

In comparison, Chris’s journey started very differently to Megan’s, he expressed this decision was caused by “pure vanity”. Chris explained that he has struggled with anorexia and an eating disorder for many years and this was just another way for him to gain more control.

Chris said: “I researched health and environmental benefits before converting, this made me aware the positive impacts it would make and therefore decided to become vegan.”

Chris said although he would like to participate at events, his work hours have prevented him from doing so. Megan, on the other hand is very much involved in raising awareness.

Megan Wilman outside a slaughterhouse, Guildford

Megan said: “Veganism is a lifestyle, it’s not just eating plant-based foods. It’s seeking to eliminate all animal suffering from your life by not purchasing beauty products that have been tested on animals or contain animal parts. I refuse to buy clothing that contains fur, wool, silk, leather or anything that an animal must be exploited for to be obtained.”

Megan is heavily involved in activism by encouraging others to tap into their consciousness and raise awareness about veganism. Apart from co-organising her own peaceful vigils outside a local slaughterhouse she also attends Hunt Sab meetings, public demonstrations and outreach events.

Some nutritionists have questioned this lifestyle and the effects on peoples well-being, both Megan and Chris have experienced only positive outcomes for themselves.

Megan said: “I hardly ever get ill any more and I feel physically lighter knowing every decision I make reduces animal suffering. I’ve made countless friends through activism and social media and my heart sings when I see our actions making a difference to the world.”

Whereas Chris has explained that his decision has made him more mature in being confident in making his own life choices and it brings him comfort knowing he is making a difference to many animal lives. He said: “People think it’s ‘cool’ and mainstream to be a vegan. It’s so much more than that. People just aren’t aware of the health and environmental benefits we can gain from veganism.”

Many people are strongly opinionated about this topic, meaning it can sometimes be difficult to discuss. Megan has experienced exactly this, saying: “People suddenly become nutritionists when they find out you’re vegan. Someone who has never once considered their own protein intake immediately wants to know all about yours. I’m always happy to discuss veganism and its many benefits but I find people get defensive very quickly, no matter how calm I remain.”

Chris has also experienced similar reactions from people but has attempted to educate and influence others to join the lifestyle. Chris explained: “I used to receive rude and ignorant answers from people, but I decided to look at is as though I’m asking someone to be something they’re not and leave it to them to make their own decisions. If they are forced or persuaded into it, then they won’t be dedicated and passionate about this lifestyle.”

--

--