How big is your heart

Rishabh Gupta
The Village Idiot
Published in
2 min readAug 28, 2016

I once heard this beautiful quote

As you travel from big cities to the smaller cities, towns and villages, you’ll find people with a bigger heart and wider smiles.

I have always been skeptical of it, but then again I spent most of my time in a big city. It was only when I started travelling outside of Delhi to other places, did I realise what it truly meant. I have a few stories from my recent travels that proves this quote right and makes me question why live in a city that is just an empty shell which looks shiny on the outside but is really rotten on the inside.

  1. I was in Haridwar for work, my phone suddenly stopped working, it was pretty serious as now I had no means of communication. Now the place where I was staying and where I went for work were pretty far away from decent civilisation for me to get anyone to have a look at it. No calls, no communication, especially when a mobile phone is the most important thing in a travelling job. It was then that one of the employee there, a graduate fresh out of college went out of his way to help me. In the evening he took out time to take me to the nearest markets and other shops for repairs, when that didn’t work he helped me buy a new one for short term and even haggled to get a discount. It took 2–3 hours of his own time but that was big big help for me.
  2. This was when I went over to a small town of Chandrapur in Maharashtra. My colleague went to town to buy some stuff but lost his wallet. With no idea about the place , it was pretty hard. To make it worse he couldn’t call me because of poor network. When he told his predicament to the shopkeeper, he was kind enough to give him a lift on his motorcycle back to where we were lodged.

These two incidents are proof enough that we living in big cities have lost our human touch. I am pretty sure no one here cares. There’s more than enough to see. People in Delhi, lying on the road in a pool of blood after an accident and yet people just leave them there. No one thinks of stopping to help, or call an ambulance. That is why the important question you need to ask is, how big is your heart?

#TVI

--

--

Rishabh Gupta
The Village Idiot

Chartered accountant by profession, dreamer by choice