Kaala Jaadu

A look at the fight against black money and its debunking the claims made by naysayers

Rishabh Gupta
The Village Idiot
6 min readNov 12, 2016

--

So some perspective before I start. A few years back I had my wallet stolen which had some Rs. 4000 in it. It wasn’t too much but for me it was. Since then I took the decision, never to carry a lot of cash on me. On a given day I would have no more than Rs. 500 or at some times Rs. 1,000 all in loose change and I’ve been using other forms of payment. Swiping my cards, wherever I went. Then came a wave of mobile wallet. I haven’t used all and was also a bit skeptical but I soon realised their usefulness as other forms of payment. I currently use PayTM and my own banks app PayZapp wherever it is available.

On one occasion I remember checking out of a good hotel where the card swiping machine wasn’t working. My first question to the person was why can’t you ensure that card machine is working, how do you expect people to pay high amounts to which he quickly and boastfully replied people pay us lakhs in cash, then showed me a bundle of 10 lakhs that some patron just paid to book their premises. I wish I could see his face now.

I am putting this out because, I haven’t been hit that hard by the note ban. Yes I also keep some hard cash at home, but it has already been deposited in the bank without any worries. Today while on a road trip to Karnal, I could see the line at ATM as early as 5 am in a few bank ATMs, I knew things were only going to get worse. By the time I had returned, I passed some 40–50 ATM and Bank branches all having a mile long queue. On hearing the news reports and talking with some of the people I knew, here’s what I got to know

  • Everyone is angry that bank ATMs were not re-calibrated for the new notes
  • People are confused and irritated due to the long lines
  • Almost everyone said that the decision was still good.

It was a surprise but something that was anticipated. Then I wondered why is there such a ruckus being created by the political parties, the liberals and others? Let’s have a look at some of the arguments they put out.

Well she’s obviously pissed and she should be, her state has become the hub of naxals which rely on a stream of fake currency and hard cash to thrive in the country. Here’s another

I won’t reveal this person’s identity but she claims to be a journalist for an independent newspaper. Her post says everything about her. Either she has been too busy being anti-modi that she cannot see the good schemes he brought out or that she is living under a rock which itself questions her credibility as a journalist. The Jan-Dhan Yojna was India’s biggest financial inclusion scheme opening almost 25.45 crore new bank accounts as of October 2016 since inception. The process takes 7 days and for those who do not have any ID proof including aadhaar (which itself is very simple to get) the person needs to get a letter signed and stamped by any gazetted officer. Banks were specifically instructed by the govt to speed things up.

Lets look at one more

The argument so conveniently paints an image that the big business houses are safe and common man are done for while ignoring the other major pitch for demonetisation, it was to break the hawala nexus, the fake currency rackets of Pakistan who India believes have a copy of the die used for the old notes and who send fake currency which is hard to distinguish from the real. The masterstroke was also to halt the major hawala dealers and the effects are already showing

The funding for separatist has stopped who are in a fix and will have to wait for a good deal of time to regain their strength, probably enough for the government to strike and strike hard.

The other good thing that happened is people are now actually clearing their long outstanding tax dues using old currency.

Lastly the financial infusion of cash, which can actually stimulate growth.

The world is seeing it as a positive step except our secular brigade

Then the other argument, made “what about people spending hours in long lines at the ATM and banks they will be so inconvenienced.” This argument is not of the people themselves but political parties and libtards again. To these people I will show a few other pics

These are people lined up for hours to get starbucks coffee, dicounts at H&M and iphone and don’t even get me started on the Reliance Jio sim. So I think that’s self explanatory. Lastly I want to show these two pics to show the stark contrast between people who are against this and for the move.

You can either choose to be the person on the left and complain, whine and bicker or be the one on the right and give a hand. The point being we are in for massive transformations in the system and we all need to do our bit.

I support the decision but not without questioning why Rs. 2000 note has been brought as I feel this was the one chance for the government to make India cashless by bringing in its own version of mobile wallet which can be implemented in both smartphones and feature phones but that is my opinion. Only time will tell what’s in store for us now as we move into a period which is slightly unpredictable but exciting.

#TVI

--

--

Rishabh Gupta
The Village Idiot

Chartered accountant by profession, dreamer by choice