Only the calendar changes…..

…… you don’t

Rishabh Gupta
The Village Idiot
3 min readDec 31, 2016

--

Today is the last day of 2016. All of you out there are probably all hyped up ready to attend the biggest party of the year happening in millions of places globally, surprisingly all of them features the best international superstar DJ which roughly translates to the best DJ they could afford. Anyway this is not about them. I decided to write early morning, because none of you will be paying attention this evening, obviously.

This is more about you, you’ll be partying until sunrise tomorrow and drinking and dancing away the night, promising yourself that you’ll be a new person this year. It might even be quitting alcohol, but lo and behold, the irony is you’ll wake up on the first day of the year with a massive hangover. The reason I know this is that I have a friend who does exactly that.

What I want to say is, if you’re gonna bring about a change in yourself, any day of the year is as good as the first day. You don’t believe me? If you made any resolutions about changing yourself or the world in 2016, bring that list out and see how many of those you actually accomplished and how many you’re going to recycle in 2017. Don’t feel annoyed, I’m no different.

There was so much I wanted to do in 2016. Yet so little was done. I again have a list of what I want to do this year and it’ll be pretty interesting to see how much I can actually get done.

Just ask yourself as to how much of a connection do you feel with what I am going to say, “I had so many plans, so many things I wanted to do, but I just couldn’t find the time” and “There was so much I could have accomplished this year, how fast it went I didn’t even realise.”

This is our collective problem, we’ll start off with a bang, hitting the gym, learning that new language, guitar or whatever we had planned in mind. January will be like that, then we fall off the bandwagon. Slowly and slowly,the guitar and the yearly gym membership gathers dust. We’ll always say we will get around to it but we never do. Before you know it, you’re making the same resolutions again.

So forget about being different on one specific day and stop carrying that emotional burden and guilt around you. You’re just like the other millions who’re stuck in a rut and can’t do anything about it. You’ll go to work, exhaust yourself from a day’s job and will be left too tired to do anything else except turn on the TV and watch the re-runs of saas bahu soaps or if you’re younger those weird TV shows that come on MTV.

Enjoy the next year and all that will come to you with it because if you want to change, today is as good a day as any other to start. If anything is going to change tomorrow is only the calendar, not you.

Have a very Happy New Year

--

--

Rishabh Gupta
The Village Idiot

Chartered accountant by profession, dreamer by choice