Open letter from 2017

Rishabh Gupta
The Village Idiot
Published in
3 min readDec 31, 2016

Hello everyone, as 2017 I welcome you. I will be your host for the next 365 days, however by the time you get around to reading this, it will already be 364 days left.

For those of you who have a habit of writing, get used to crossing out the 6 in the end and writing 7 whenever you write the date. It will be annoying but by the 20th day you will get used to it. Spare me your promises and resolutions, I know it all from my brethren about how you make false promises while drunk and then forget all about them only to end your year with guilt and regret and make the same old promise.

By the time you get used to the fact that the I am just like every other year, I will already lose one month. Expect chaos to follow as an unpredictable person takes seat as the most powerful head of state in the world. Of course I am talking about trump.

February will be no different and March will pass like a breeze. I would want to ask you then about what happened to your plans of changing your life and becoming a better person.

By the time April comes along and I would lose a quarter of my life, you will be stuck in the same problems of life. That important meeting will always come at the last minute just when you had plans to take your family out. That one presentation, that one report that one errand at the office will always plague you and prevent you from doing what you love and by the time you complete those it will already be June. The hot sun will be in swing but your life will move at as slow a pace as it was.

Something will always creep in unannounced. At this time you may not remember all the promises you made yourself during the start, but if you had stuck with even half of them you could have had a new and improved life.

With the monsoon setting in all your hopes, dreams and aspirations might wash away with the rain if you don’t get around by then, soon it will be october and I will be gone 3/4ths.

Before you even realise what happened it will be time just like yesterday, 31st December 2017 and I will say farewell and thank you for the disappointments while you repeat the same old that you did today, and promise yourself a change and lie to my successor.

Of course you can change that and start something new today and keep the momentum going, but then I will be kidding myself to think that you are capable of such a feat when I already know everything about you from 2016.

Nevertheless I wish you all the best for the year and may you stay happy and healthy.

#TVI

--

--

Rishabh Gupta
The Village Idiot

Chartered accountant by profession, dreamer by choice