Project365: The Curtain call

How I wrote a blog everyday for a year

Rishabh Gupta
The Village Idiot
2 min readMay 10, 2017

--

So many of our dreams at first seem impossible. Then they seem improbable.
And then, when we summon the will, they soon become inevitable.- Nelson Mandela

I never thought that I would get this far, or even anywhere close to it. Today I have officially spent an entire year, 365 days of blogging. Writing out one article after the other, no matter what my condition or what place I was in. All across the country travelling through remote areas, while all other objectives seemed less important as compared to writing out the blog for the day.

When I started out with the first post on 11th May 2016, I thought it would be a one off thing. Then I read about one of my favourite blogger Seth Godin who has been writing blogs on a regular basis almost daily. It was then that I decided to take up this challenge just to make it a learning experience. From what started out as a 1 week challenge became a 1 month challenge then 3 months, 6 months to 1 full year.

Today I just want to recall those struggles as I wrote articles after articles from moving buses, standing on the metro, in trains. My journeys took me to places like Ludhiana, Bhiwadi, Nagpur, Haridwar, Nangal, Shimla and more. The biggest challenge had to be struggling to find a decent connection all so I could publish what I wrote sometimes trying to keep a balance with 2g.

As for what I wrote only about 30% of what I wrote I ever shared with any of you. Most of it had to do with my own feelings, my struggles, my aspirations and my experiences. Sometimes it was tough to even gather enough strength to write because I was too exhausted but as one my friend knows that now I have perfected the art of writing a blog even half asleep. It’s beside the point as to what I wrote that night I forgot immediately and had to reopen it just check what I was typing.

It has done me good to let my feelings out without most people knowing about it except one in particular who has been reading it even when I didn’t know. Thank you in particular ^_^.

While I have decided to take a break from blogging for sometime, I am not sure if I can actually do it for the simple reason that blogging started as a hobby and today it is my habit and one that I am glad that I have.

Till the next post

#TVI

--

--

Rishabh Gupta
The Village Idiot

Chartered accountant by profession, dreamer by choice