What if?……

……..Your life had taken a different turn

Rishabh Gupta
The Village Idiot
2 min readMay 15, 2016

--

Of all the TV shows that I watch, my favorite has to be the one ‘Doctor Who.’ For those of you who don’t know, it is about an alien who is right now over 2000 years old and travels across time and space in a spaceship that looks like a telephone box.

Few years ago, they aired one particular show titled ‘Turn Left’, it showed one of the Doctors companion Donna took the most important decision when she made a left turn at a cross road to appear for one job interview instead of listening to her mom and turning right to go for the other one, one thing lead to another and she meets the hero. The TV show specially showed how her life would have been if she turned right instead.

Looking at that show made me want to ask myself some questions, the biggest one being what did I do to be what I am today? Could I have been any different? The answer as unremarkable it is, is ‘YES’. My life could have gone in a million different directions. Though I could never know how it could have gone, would it have been better or worse, I do ask myself this question nearly everyday as I take a step ahead in time. Every time I’m offered choices laid out in front of me. Right from changing schools, becoming a CA, choosing the college, choosing the right firm, even falling in love with that one special person. Each time I made a choice.

Though what I am today I can’t undo it but I don’t want to, I feel everything turned out alright, but going forward, I do ask myself this one particular question when I am at a cross road and I have to turn left, ‘what would happen if I turned right?’

#TVI

Turn Left- Doctor Who Wikipedia Page

--

--

Rishabh Gupta
The Village Idiot

Chartered accountant by profession, dreamer by choice