10 Books for Healing Mental, Emotional, and Physical Trauma

Book recommendations for treating depression, feelings of helplessness, paralysis, self-doubt, and chronic pain from childhood trauma, attachment trauma, dysfunctional family dynamics, and unfulfilling relationships.

Charlotte
The Virago

--

Photo by Siora Photography on Unsplash

After several decades dealing with body dysmorphia, burning out, severe acne, and increasing health concerns, I decided to approach self-growth, healing, and medicine in a different way.

Even though I had attended some therapy sessions prior to this journey, I had no idea what was going on within my body or my mind. I didn’t even know that I could be truthful with my therapist. I thought that I had to cry profusely in order to necessitate the visit. I ran over 20 miles a week, went to yoga practice, worked to the bone, and ate “healthily” — but I was miserable, empty, and broken on the inside. What’s more, my financial life was in disarray. I didn’t believe in making money, believing that I would rather and should work for free. I also didn’t believe that I was allowed to make more money than my parents. Who was I to think that I was better than them? I starved myself when I went out because I believed that it was wrong to spend money. At the same time, I would…

--

--

Charlotte
The Virago

I write about mental health and healing from childhood trauma & dysfunctional family systems. Send some support! https://www.buymeacoffee.com/HelloCharlotte