10 Things You Can Stop Doing Now to Become A Narcissist’s Nightmare

Abuse experts inspire me to rebuild my self-worth after a lifetime of narcissistic abuse

Alice Crady
The Virago

--

Photo Credit: Unsplash, Ali Pazani

Four years ago: Sitting alone on my bed, a pile of pills clinked together in my hands as I fidgeted, I felt ready to end my life. Without narcissist awareness, I blamed myself for the fact that I was feeling completely worthless. I didn’t know my ex-boyfriend and two family members had abused me from day one.

For the past ten months, I’ve poured my whole self into recovery, engaging in shadow work therapy, working with an abuse survivor life coach, joining support groups, studying narcissism and trauma, and processing inner pain. And after recently ending a brief romantic encounter with yet another narcissist, I gained a valuable insight: the more I validate my feelings and self-worth, the less I crave narcissists’ attention.

“Sometimes, I still see my trauma history as a handicap. But I want to believe my crisis fuels transformation. I’m teetering on this recovery step,” I told my coach.

Sometimes I feel like there’s an inner battle happening: the negative, judgmental programming versus the voice of compassion. The more I give myself unconditional love, the less I believe I need to earn acceptance.

--

--

Alice Crady
The Virago

🦋 I uplift, inspire, and empower authentic human flourishing. I create transformative, hopeful, relatable content ❤️🕯 #Mental Health #Women #Relationships