54 Lessons I’ve Learned in my 54 Years of Life

May you gain wisdom from my mistakes

Michelle Jaqua
The Virago

--

Photo by Cliff Johnson on Unsplash

Today is my birthday and I’m 54 years old! In my mind, I’m so much younger than this, but my body tells me otherwise.

A couple of days ago, I saw my mom for the first time in a while. It was at her birthday party, a small outside, socially-distanced gathering at my brother’s house. She just turned 75 years old.

Her vitality is leaving her. I was sad to watch her shuffling around, not remembering what someone had told her five minutes prior. Her husband takes good care of her, has been faithful and ever-loving, and keeps her safe and well.

It made me look at my own mortality.

When I look in the mirror, I see my salt-and-pepper hair. My body is no longer the athletic build it used to be. But, with those physical signs of aging, I also have a lifetime of experience.

I have been through two divorces and three marriages. I’ve had unspeakable abuse in my life — even though it was a long time ago, it stays with me. I’ve raised two children who are now grown and lead their own lives. I’ve lost a few friends; their lives ended earlier than mine. I have seen a lot of changes in this world over the past 50-plus years; some changes are not for the better.

--

--

Michelle Jaqua
The Virago

Advocate for Women / Owner of Lipedema and Me and The Virago