A Gift Guide for Women’s History Month

After six million years of oppression, systematic and psychological indoctrination, we deserve it yall.

Charlotte
The Virago

--

March is Women’s History Month. Why do we have an entire month dedicated to women? If you had asked me, even a year ago, I would have retorted, “We don’t have a men’s month. Why would we need a women’s history month?” And this is someone who calls herself a liberal and has read The Feminine Mystique. As a Chinese American woman who grew up in a strict Confucius household and the American South, I have some internalized misogyny and patriarchy that I still carry today. I imagine that unlearning the conditioning and grooming that I received as a child and young adult will be a life-long process.

Celebrating Women’s History Month doesn’t mean that I don’t celebrate or appreciate men. I do. I celebrate men every time I open a history book, apply for a job, and stare at a painting at the MET. Celebrating Women’s Month means that I acknowledge and understand the complicated social dynamics and history that has prevented women from making their own money, making their own decisions, and owning their own body. It means that I acknowledge that women are just as talented, smart, and capable as men but they haven’t been allowed, empowered, or given the opportunities to write the great American…

--

--

Charlotte
The Virago

I write about mental health and healing from childhood trauma & dysfunctional family systems. https://www.buymeacoffee.com/HelloCharlotte