A Love Letter For My Husband-To-Be

Because it’s never too late to fall in love…

Michelle Jaqua
The Virago

--

Photo by Beatriz Pérez Moya on Unsplash

Dear Michael,

When we first met, I was tired and almost completely done looking for you. I’d already been through two failed marriages and too many failed first dates trying to find my life partner. I thought you’d already passed me by. Maybe you were up in a tree or you walked right past me, and I wasn’t paying enough attention to look up and notice you. I‘d believed that you had come and gone, and that was my own damn fault. Here I was, still single and pushing fifty and kicking myself that somehow I’d missed you in this lifetime.

But then I decided to give it one more try. I signed up for another online dating site. When you popped up on my feed, I thought “what a kind face” and swiped right. Then you sent me a beautiful message. I can’t remember what it said, only that it endeared me enough to respond to you. I don’t remember what I said either, but I’d hoped it was enough to interest you. Then I let it go.

Then one evening when I was on another failed date, you messaged me again and asked me to have a drink with you. I jumped at the chance to see you. Although I didn’t know it at the time, after forty-nine years, my first date with you was the end of my search.

--

--

Michelle Jaqua
The Virago

Advocate for Women / Owner of Lipedema and Me and The Virago