An Uncomfortable Truth

I Don’t Have A Warm Fuzzy Relationship With My Mom

Lynda Wallis
The Virago

--

Photo by Simon Rae on Unsplash

This is NOT a “boohoo, poor me story.” It’s simply my story.

The pull of gravity between my mom and my sister was/is undeniable. There was no fighting it or trying to insert myself. My sister was mom’s favorite, both my brothers and I always knew it. Mom never tried to hide how she felt about our sister. It was blatant. Our sister was mom’s favorite. Period.

We’re not supposed to admit we don’t have a great relationship with our mothers, let alone say it out loud. I don’t say it out loud very often. I’ve gotten over the feeling that lightning is going to strike me for saying it. Thankfully, I remain unsinged by lightning strikes.

The universe really does not care.

I got over the lack of a meaningful relationship with my mom 20+ years ago. It was a very healthy choice for me.

When we were younger I heard ad nauseam what a high IQ my sister had. I often wondered why my IQ was never ever tested. I knew I was smart, but no one else seemed to notice. Even being a member of the Honor Society all through high school garnered me no notice for my brains or studiousness.

Into my 20s and 30s, mom often would remark on how high my sister’s IQ was. I wasn’t sure how I was supposed…

--

--

Lynda Wallis
The Virago

Deeply rooted in the mid west, I write about little things — everything is a little thing-art, the creative process, the natural world, and love.