Four Real-Life Examples Of Gaslighting Provided By Anonymous Victims

“He claimed that he contributed financially when I paid for everything.”

Carrie Wynn
The Virago

--

Photo by Alex Boyd on Unsplash

For the last few years, I have been coaching victims that have gone through psychological and narcissistic abuse.

Every victim stated that their abuser was gaslighting them throughout the entire relationship, leaving them with no sense of self, and completely doubting their own sense of reality.

A few months ago, I asked some of my clients if they would mind if I anonymously shared their examples of gaslighting.

Their experiences are as follows, and truly depict the damage that gaslighting can inflict on our reality and sense of self.

“He claimed that he contributed financially when I paid for everything.”

Years ago, I was in a relationship with a man who made much more money than I did. Although that was the case, I found myself paying for everything. At first, I honestly didn’t notice as I was so caught up in the honeymoon stage with him. However, as time went on, I realized that he was extremely stingy and didn’t contribute to anything. As frustration

--

--

Carrie Wynn
The Virago

❦ Writer/coach specializing in relationships. Blog: carriewynn.com Instagram: carrie_wynnmusings Support by: https://medium.com/@carriewynn/membership