How I Found 7 Unique Super Powers as a Narcissistic Abuse Survivor

Abuse experts helped me find roses in my recovery journey after a lifetime of abuse.

Alice Crady
The Virago

--

Photo Credit: Unsplash, Sarah Doody

Throughout childhood, I experienced narcissistic abuse, what many refer to as repeated “soul-rape.” The abuse came with hugs and the words: “I love you. I’m trying to protect you.”

Discovering narcissistic abuse in my birth family and adult relationships seems like the worst and best thing that ever happened to me.

I always assumed it was my fault that I often felt lonely, insecure, and even worthless. Something must be wrong with me. Am I not engaging, intelligent, or pretty enough for my family to pay attention to me? To love me?

Since my parents homeschooled me, I became immersed in this environment.

From an early age, I engaged in numerous numbing behaviors, such as consuming excess food and sweets, alcohol, drugs, and over-working. During one depressive episode, I used self-harm as a way to express my pain. As a vulnerable young woman, multiple men sexually abused me. After a disastrous breakup with a narcissistic boyfriend, I nearly killed myself.

I assumed everything was somehow my fault, perhaps from some significant character flaws or my sexual nature.

--

--

Alice Crady
The Virago

Artist & wellness advocate blending creativity, healing, & self-expression. Explore more: AllisonCrady.com 🌸🎶 #Creativity #MentalHealth #Relationships