I Watch Little House On The Prairie For Self Care

Getting healthy with the Ingalls family

Glenna Gill
The Virago
Published in
4 min readDec 3, 2020

--

Photo Credit: Wonders in the Dark/Wordpress.com

My first burst of anxiety normally hits around 9:00 a.m. every day. It’s the time where I have to start making decisions on how to manage my day. I find this an overwhelming process. Do I write in the morning or in the afternoon? When should I wash the dishes? What about my shower? Before I know it, my brain is racing and my heart is pounding. If I’m not careful, I’ll work myself into a panic attack where nothing gets done at all.

I didn’t go looking for the Little House On The Prairie show. It happened to pop up on my phone one day while scrolling. Of course, I loved the show growing up like most little kids. I remembered a few of the episodes by heart: the one where Laura loses her horse, Bunny, to Nellie Oleson, the one where the blind school burns down, even the one where Albert has leukemia and comes home to die in Walnut Grove. One would think the show would upset me with all the sad stories, but instead, every episode calms me down and fills up my heart.

Take Charles Ingalls, for instance, played by the late Michael Landon. He was kind, funny, loved his family, and had the most gorgeous black hair imaginable. Every time Charles busts out in a belly laugh, I can’t help but laugh right along with him. The spiritual side that he brings to…

--

--

Glenna Gill
The Virago

My memoir, “When I Was Lost,” is available now. Owner of Memories Mastered publication. Writing here since 2018 and love it!