May You Be Happy: A Letter to the First Man That Left Me

You Didn’t Just Leave My Mum. You Divorced Me, Too. And I Am Finally Okay With That!

Janette
The Virago

--

A ginger haired girl throwing her hair in the air in a powerful pose.
Photo by Rachel Coyne on Unsplash

The first man who left me was my so-called “father” at that time. When my mother split up with him, he divorced not only her but me too.

I share my journey, from the challenging part, the hurt, the blame, the feelings of not being worthy of love. I had to face my trauma to become who I am today: A confident woman that found herself along the way through a swamp of toxic relationships.

I hope my story will be perceived as a small beacon of hope.

The last time I saw you

We spend a great week together. Maybe the best we ever had. When you moved your stuff to your new home, the wife that came with it and her son, I accompanied you. And what a fantastic week it was.

When you dropped me off that last day, you told me “let’s just reach out to each other in the future from time to time”.

We never did.

“Out of sight, out of mind.”

I was thirteen, torn between you and my mum in a toxic swirl of hate, legal issues, and blame. What’s your excuse?

--

--