My Love Could Not “Fix” A Narcissist With an Addiction

We need to start believing people when they promise us that they will never change

Carrie Wynn
The Virago

--

Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

Many years ago I poured my heart and soul into someone who did not deserve any part of me, as many people do when they end up falling for a toxic/narcissistic romantic partner.

These days I tell my story to help other victims of narcissistic abuse realize that they are not alone, and hopefully guide them in their healing journey.

Recently I was talking to a client of mine that is going through a situation of loving a narcissist who is also an addict. Their situation reminds me of my own, years ago with the Narcissist.

I have never really gone into the moments that surfaced due to my ex’s addiction as I primarily focus on the abuse. Yet the two actually go hand-in-hand, as the abuse and devaluation became worse as he drowned himself in more and more drugs and alcohol.

Eventually, I became aware that there was truly nothing that I could do to save him or our relationship, due in part to him telling me that he would never change.

--

--

Carrie Wynn
The Virago

❦ Writer/coach specializing in relationships. Blog: carriewynn.com Instagram: carrie_wynnmusings Support by: https://medium.com/@carriewynn/membership