My Partnership Just Ended — Now I’m Using the Pain for Deeper Healing

He left after I realized I deserved a more secure, supportive, and sustainable romance

Alice Crady
The Virago

--

Photo Credit: Anas Qtiesh

Two months ago, I hit an emotional burnout wall at his house. He hadn’t been proactive about getting me home safe, as he usually was, and I grew overwhelmed and anxious.

I don’t have another ounce of energy to give to inspire you to care more.

Inspiring his care and affection is not my responsibility. Yet, on some level, I still felt like it was. I’d been trying to receive safety and security from my partner, and I couldn’t do it anymore.

At some point, I’d fallen into lingering codependent patterns. The way he expressed anger often led to me feeling emotionally unsafe. Over the months, I experimented with healthy, accepting ways to approach these situations and protect myself. It wasn’t working.

Leading up to the relationship, I’d already spent years doing focused inner work. With depth therapy, psychology research, and somatic processing, I revamped my approach to relationships. With well over 10,000 hours of focused effort and practice, I consider myself a romance expert.

As I sift through layers of grief, I see that our relationship simply ran its course…

--

--

Alice Crady
The Virago

🦋 I uplift, inspire, and empower authentic human flourishing. I create transformative, hopeful, relatable content ❤️🕯 #Mental Health #Women #Relationships