Sorry You Raped Me: The How to Reason, Monumental Fail

It’s not so bad. Really, it’s my fault. Like … I should’ve been wiser, you know?

Sphynx JuneBerry
The Virago

--

Photo by Zach Kadolph on Unsplash

I set myself up to do his bidding, she smiled over FaceTime. Agony and alcohol penetrated her sing-song voice. I choked on my sister’s words. Was she trying to convince me… or herself? Disbelief, confusion, and guilt stifled the airwaves. Mutually helpless. We froze.

Silent. Together we welcomed a sultry interruption from P!nk… “Right from the start you were a thief, you stole my heart, And I, your willing victim…” She and Tony’s four-year friendship evolved into a romance. The guy had great qualities. Tony is a “good guy.” Big sis, he’s always been respectful. But we all have dating nonnegotiable. Tony expressed one of hers earlier that day. His request that evening was met with, I’m not in the mood. To explain rape prevention, Author Zaron Burnett III notes, “being in a relationship doesn’t mean “yes.”

Tony insisted they speak in person. I invited him over to end things. Dearly beloved, they gathered…

--

--

Sphynx JuneBerry
The Virago

Trilingual legal eagle, habitual giggler, daydreamer, Indigo Child, ENTP…sharing lived experience in “True story bro” fashion. https://linktr.ee/SphynxJuneBerry