The Dark Side of the Wildly Popular ‘Barbie Girl’ Song

This bizarre bestseller stole my innocence and I had no clue

Bertilla Niveda
The Virago

--

Image by Isabella Quintana from Pixabay

I’m a blond bimbo girl in a fantasy world

Dress me up, make it tight, I’m your dolly.

These are just a couple of lines from the globally famous superhit, ‘Barbie Girl’. If you think this is disturbing, wait till you read the other verses.

No matter where you grew up, this is a song you definitely have heard at least once. The ‘Barbie Girl’ song was and still is the universal anthem that pops into people’s minds when you talk about Barbie. It’s upbeat, catchy, and fun. What more could you want? Except, oh wait, its lyrics are utter trash. Let me take you through them.

I’m a Barbie girl, in the Barbie world

Life in plastic, it’s fantastic

Er, okay…? Well, it’s a song about a doll. I guess it’s okay if Barbie finds life in plastic pretty fantastic. That’s all she’s got. You do you, Barb.

You can brush my hair, undress me everywhere

Imagination, life is your creation

Yikes. She’s singing that you can brush her hair and undress her. I mean, if she’s singing to Ken, that’s good for her, but seriously? This is the song that…

--

--

Bertilla Niveda
The Virago

Artist, engineer, and writer with a lot to say. You can connect with me at bertillaniveda@gmail.com | Learn more→ https://bit.ly/3Ba489Q