The Pandemic Helped Me To Find God

How I overcame resistance to religion

She Speaks
The Virago

--

Photo by Hugo Fergusson on Unsplash

I hail from the land of ‘Saints and Scholars — aka Catholic Ireland. Most would assume that religion is an ingrained part of daily life there. And from a glance, it does appear so. Churches and cathedrals dominate the skyline. Crosses decorate every corner, and phrases such as “God bless you” roll off the tongue of elders.

Yet, despite this, there was a distinct lack of faith among the youth that I knew and associated with. It was almost embarrassing or ‘uncool’ to be seen at mass on a Sunday. Many quickly explained that they’d only gone so “me ma’ wouldn't bait me”-Irish for: “so my mother wouldn't kill me.”

Growing up I never met anyone my age who seemed to have faith in God or at least who wasn’t afraid to show it. The general consensus was that religion and church were for old people. Us youngsters knew better.

By the ’90s the catholic church had lost its fierce grip and oppressive influence on society. Single mothers were no longer deeply shamed. The clergy had lost its influence and people no longer worried about living under its strict doctrine.

An Irish childhood

I was the child of a Protestant mother and Catholic father. Neither particularly cared for religion so I wasn’t…

--

--