The Overwhelming Rage Women Carry Inside

It’s everywhere and it’s getting stronger

Claire Divino
The Virago

--

Photo by Luz Fuertes on Unsplash

We, women, are enraged and I, as a woman, am no exception. I wasn’t even aware of the degree of this rage, though, until I started to regularly publish on Medium.

At first, I was going to write romance. Instead, this somehow turned into erotica, and then I added to it relationships and women categories, which is when all hell broke loose.

There were things that triggered me quite severely, sometimes to the point of feeling as if I were shaking inside, a storm brewing inside of me, and I saw other female writers being triggered as well.

Julia Beaudett, for instance, was deeply upset and hurt by another female writer on Medium who slut-shamed her, and Yael Wolfe by how her nephew started to exhibit disturbing signs of misogyny at an early age despite his liberal upbringing.

Julia and her supporters expressed her anger and hurt on Twitter as well as in several responding posts, while Yael was shocked by having to watch the corruption of her nephew unfolding in front of her eyes.

For me, for instance, the moment of rage and shock came when one of my followers made a seemingly innocent remark — he said that he, as a man, creates life by putting his seed inside a woman.

--

--

Claire Divino
The Virago

All things divine, (might be naughty) fantasies, light and darkness combined. Subscribe: https://clairedivino.substack.com/