We Need More Female Role Models

We must be the women who provide them

Lynda Wallis
The Virago

--

Vinyl logo installation, Credit: author photo

I was hired to install a new vinyl logo on an existing sign in front of a 200 year-old beloved mansion. It had been suggested to me that I take a few photos and selfies during the process so folks could see that things were happening at the mansion. A bit self-consciously, I did.

When I posted photos of the sign installation my FB page the post blew up with over 1,700 views, plus the post was shared 5 or 6 times. Never in my social media life have I had a post with that many eyeballs on it. 1,700 views. Amazing.

I’ve wondered why this particular post captured the attention of so many.

  • The post was shared by The Dole; a newly energized organization dedicated to preserving and protecting the Dole Mansion and Lakeside Arts Park located in Crystal Lake, Illinois for community use in a natural & historic setting.
  • Followers and supporters of The Dole are super devoted, loyal and over-the-top stoked about what has been happening there recently under the new management team.
  • The post clearly shows, me, an older woman doing the work to install the new vinyl sign.

When I was 20, I went into a local sign and billboard company; I wanted to work there. I wanted to work up high on ladders…

--

--

Lynda Wallis
The Virago

Deeply rooted in the mid west, I write about little things — everything is a little thing-art, the creative process, the natural world, and love.