We Need to Stop the Toxic Instagram Culture

They used to make me believe in the perfect relationships and lifestyles that don’t even exist.

Anggun Bawi
The Virago

--

Photo by Ivan Samkov on Pexels

It’s crazy how easy it is for women to fall into a comparison trap just because they spend 30 minutes every day scrolling on Instagram. I’ve been there, and some certain days, I still do. But I’ve figured how not to let it affect me anymore.

I just watched this video of Instagram Models Be Like by Julie Nolke the other day. It was meant for merely a joke, but at the end of the video, she stated that she isn’t a fan of the toxic Instagram culture, and I couldn’t agree more.

Back in 2019, I worked with this Influencer who managed to have thousands of followers on her Instagram account. While I never had problems with her lifestyle, I was a bit concerned about the message she was trying to spread.

I had to admit before I got to know the behind scenes and all the bitter truths, I used to adore those influencers and looked up to them. I mean, who doesn’t want to have the “perfect” life, right?

When reality hits you with back-to-back problems, seeing one happy, successful soul on Instagram could change the way you see life. You would start thinking about whether life is supposed to be like that, and maybe you’ll end…

--

--

Anggun Bawi
The Virago

writing on trauma, dating and relationships - in the hope that you'll feel less alone on your journey | lives in vancouver 🇨🇦