What Happens If You Call a Narcissist a Narcissist?

Calling out a narcissist is pointless

Hakima T A N T R I K A
The Virago

--

Photo by Malik Earnest on Unsplash

During my training as a relationship coach, I’ve learned that calling a narcissist a narcissist is pointless.

Yet, I found myself in this situation recently. The word slipped out of my mouth as I said:

“You’re a self-centered person, and I will not entertain the narcissist.”

Narcissists are characterized by extreme self-centeredness: they are unable or unwilling to recognize or identify with the feelings and needs of others.

They lack empathy; that is, they’re unable to readily put themselves in someone else’s shoes or perspective.

When a narcissist is criticized, they will often come up with excuses for why it is not their fault and blame you back.

So, what happens if you call a narcissist a narcissist?

It is only by comparison of what a healthy individual would do in such a situation that you can know if someone is on the narcissistic spectrum or not.

A Healthy Response

A healthy person will probably have some sort of grimace with a smile. Then, they will try to put themselves into the other person’s shoes…

--

--

Hakima T A N T R I K A
The Virago

Scholar-practitioner of Classical Tantra with 15 years' experience, launching Quantum Tantra, a 3-month online program for the down-to-earth spiritual seekers