When Did We Turn Into Such Money Whores?

Not everything we touch must turn to gold

Lori Welch Brown
The Virago

--

Nicholas Chester-Adams

I love my Dad. More than anything. He passed from COVID-19 in December, and his passing truly took the wind out of my sails. I had a great childhood, and the lessons, memories, and legacy he leaves behind are staggering.

That being said, he also screwed me up about money.

I’m a daddy’s girl. Always have been and always will be. How did I make Dad proud? By earning money. Whatever I did, whatever I accomplished, always begged the question, “That’s great, but how much does it pay?”

Everyone who knows me and my brothers knows our work ethic. It is unwavering. Even my ex-sister-in-law said, “Whatever faults your brother had in our marriage, he is the hardest working person I’ve ever met.” We all suffer from workaholicism. We don’t need incentives to work more, but that’s what chasing the almighty dollar does. It makes you a money whore.

My entire career I chased money, not happiness. I worked for pay. My earnings determined my worth both on and off the clock, and somehow my self-worth got intertwined with my W-2. I was hungry for a paycheck which wasn’t always a bad thing. I became a top earner in my profession, and I like to think I raised the bar a bit for others. I proved that a ‘secretary’ without a…

--

--

Lori Welch Brown
The Virago

Writer, artist, coffee guzzler. Cats and dogs. Editor at The Virago. Freelance editor & writer for hire. loriwbrown@icloud.com